The ICD-9-CM is divided into three volumes: Volume 1 (tabular list of diseases). Volume 2 (Index of Diseases). Volume 3 (index of procedures and tabular list of procedures).

Similarly, one might ask how many ICD 9 volumes are there?

ICD-9-CM Volume 3. ICD– 9-CM Volume 3 is a system of procedure codes used by health insurers to classify medical procedures for billing purposes. It is a subgroup of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD) 9-CM. Volumes 1 and 2 are used for diagnostic coding.

Second, which volumes of ICD 9-CM are used for diagnostic coding?

ICD-9-CM is divided into three volumes , The first two consist of diagnostic codes, while the third volume contains a list of available procedure codes. Inpatient medical coders and medical billers use Volume 3 to describe medically necessary services provided in the hospital setting.

So how many chapters does ICD 9 CM have?

ICD-10 -CM has 21 chapters in the tabular list, while ICD-9-CM had 17 plus two additional classifications (V codes and E codes). Comparison between ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM.

ICD-9-CM Chapter ICD-10-CM Chapter
16. Symptoms, Signs, and Undefined Conditions (780-799) 16. Certain disorders originating in the perinatal period (P00-P96)

What are the ICD 9 codes?

  • These are commonly referred to as diagnostic codes.
  • ICD-9 stands for International Classification of Disease, Ninth Revision.
  • Coding is a universal or standard system used for is for the purpose of identifying diseases.
  • These codes have three, four or five digits.

What is the difference between ICD 9 and ICD 10 codes?

ICD-9 codes can contain between three and five digits, but ICD-10 codes can contain between three and seven digits. This is done to create codes that are more specific, in addition to accounting for diseases and conditions not covered under ICD-9.

What letter is considered a wildcard character in ICD 10 CM?


What are the differences between ICD-9 codes and CPT codes?

In short, ICD-9 is the code used to identify the state or to describe the disease treated, also called diagnosis. CPT is the code used to describe the treatment and diagnostic services provided for that diagnosis.

How many ICD-10 codes are there?

There are over 70,000 ICD-10 PCS procedure codes and over 69,000 ICD-10-CM diagnostic codes, compared to approximately 3,800 procedure codes and approximately 14,000 diagnostic codes found in the previous ICD-9-CM.

In which countries is ICD 10-CM used?

The Czech Republic, Denmark, Romania, Slovakia and Thailand adopted ICD-10 to code mortality in 1994, and since then 33 other countries have joined. The United States began using ICD-10 in January 1999 to encode and classify mortality data from death certificates.

Is ICD 9 still used?

The ICD-9 – Code structure has been in place for 30 years. The terms currently used in ICD-9 are outdated, obsolete and no longer compatible with current medical practice. In addition, the structure of ICD-9 limits the number of new codes that can be created, and many ICD-9 categories are full.

What does ICD stand for?

International Classification of Diseases

Why is ICD 10 important?

The ICD-10 code system provides accurate and up-to-date procedural codes to improve healthcare costs and ensure fair reimbursement policies. Specifically, the current Codes help healthcare providers identify patients in need of immediate disease management and tailor effective disease management programs.

What does CPT mean in medical terms?

Current Procedural Terminology

What is a CM code?

This US ICD-10 modification is called ICD-10-CM, where the CM part stands for clinical modification. In addition to ICD-10-CM for identifying diagnoses, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services have developed ICD-10-PCS, a set of codes for identifying procedures used on hospitalized patients.

How to find Do you have ICD 10 codes?

ICD-10: How to find the right code in 5 steps

  1. Order the lists today. Both can be downloaded from the CMS website (
  2. Tip.
  3. Step 2: Check the tabular list.
  4. Step 3: Read the code‘s instructions.
  5. Example.
  6. Example.
  7. Step 5: For glaucoma, you may need to add a seventh character.
  8. Example.

How many ICD 10 codes can be billed?

You can combine up to 12 diagnostic codes into one Record Application form, only four of these diagnostic codes can be associated with a particular CPT code. This is because the current 1500 form has room for up to four diagnostic notes per line, and this will not change with the transition to ICD-10.


The International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) is based on the ninth revision of the World Health Organization’s International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9).

What are ICDs 9 and 10 codes?

The ICD-9-CM codes have three to five characters that are numeric except for the V-codes (factors affecting health care), E-codes (external Causes of Injury) and M-Codes (Morphology of Neoplasms) beginning with a single letter. The new ICD-10-CM codes have three to seven alphanumeric characters.

How often are ICD codes updated?

The ICD code set is usually updated every 10 years. The US was the last industrialized nation to adopt ICD-10 for reporting illnesses and injuries, although it has been used for mortality statistics since 1999.

What coding systems does the United States use?

Two common medical classification systems are used – the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) and Current Procedural Terminology (CPT).

In what year was ICD 9 CM first introduced?

In testifying before Congress in May 2002, Sue Prophet, AHIMA’s Director of Coding Policies and Compliance, testified that “AHIMA believes that the introduction of a replacement for the ICD-9-CM diagnostic codes is an absolute necessity, since ICD-9-CM is more than 20 years old (implemented in 1979) and obsolete and